Log in

Asian American Bar Association of Houston

A Voice for the Asian-American Community



The Asian American Bar Association ("AABA") of Houston is a voluntary association of attorneys, judges, and law students of Asian-Pacific heritage or who have Asian-Pacific and Asian-Pacific American interests. Founded in 1984, the AABA’s membership reflects all aspects of Houston’s Asian-Pacific American legal community.

Originally created to provide a support group for the handful of Asian-Pacific American lawyers practicing in Houston at the time, the AABA has continually evolved to meet the needs and objectives of its ever-growing membership. The organization is now the largest collective voice for the Asian-Pacific American legal community in the state of Texas, representing the interests of well over 500 attorneys in the Greater Houston area. Over the past 20 years, the AABA has presented gala events featuring such special guests as Governor Rick Perry, Senator Phil Gramm, United States District Judge Ronald S.W. Lew, Xerox General Counsel Don Liu, Dell General Counsel Lawrence P. Tu, and Shell Oil Company General Counsel Catherine Lamboley. In 1990, the AABA also hosted the Second Annual National Asian Pacific American Bar Association ("NAPABA") Convention in Houston, where it established the national Thomas Tang Moot Court Competition. And in 2004, in conjunction with its 20th Anniversary Gala & Silent Auction, the AABA created a non-profit charitable and educational affiliate, the Asian American Bar Foundation ("AABF"), to further serve and support community efforts within the city. Today, the AABA provides regular Continuing Legal Education, networking, and other professional opportunities for its members; organizes and sponsors free legal clinics 

and pro bono programs for the community at large; mentors and promotes law students and the next generation of Asian-Pacific American lawyers; and serves as a forum for the discussion of current legal topics affecting all Asian Americans.

Out of the AABA’s atmosphere of service and leadership, many of its members have gone on to become prominent leaders in both the public and private sectors. Included among these public servants is Gordon Quan, former Houston City Council Member and Mayor Pro Tem, as well as many current and former members of the local judiciary: the Honorable Hannah Chow, former County Criminal Court Judge; the Honorable Herbert Gee, Municipal Court Judge; the Honorable Kathy Han, Municipal Court Judge; the Honorable Antonia Ingversen, Municipal Court Judge; the Honorable Timothy Seo, Associate Municipal Court Judge; and the Honorable Ted Wu, Associate Municipal Court Judge.

The Asian American Bar Association of Houston is grateful to its members and to the Houston legal community for their support and enthusiasm. We look forward to many more decades of growth and community service. 

AABA Past Presidents

1984       The Honorable Ted H. Wu
1985The Honorable Ted H. Wu
1986 The Honorable Ted H. Wu
1986 The Honorable Timothy K. Seo
1987 The Honorable Hannah Chow
1988 Harry Gee, Jr.
1990 Gordon Quan
1991 George R. Willey
1992 The Honorable Herbert W. Gee
1993 Russell T. Wong
1994 The Honorable Antonia M. Ingversen
1995 Mark Lee
1996 Alexander C. Chae
1997 Daniel David Hu
1998 Yong J. An
1999 The Honorable Herbert W. Gee
Robert Kwok
2001Robert Kwok
2002 Trang Q. Tran
2003 Patricia Lin
2004 Lola F. Lin
2005 Hoang Quan Vu
2006 Andrea E. Tran
2007 Emily T. Kuo
2008 Catherine T. Than
2009 Warren S. Huang
2010 Joyce Kao Soliman
2011 Audrey M. Chang
2012 Daniel H. Chen
2013 Alice C. Huang
2014 Helene Dang
2015 Clinton Yu
2016 Chris T. Lee
2017 H. Albert Liou
2018Sang Shin
2019Jennifer Fung
2020Judy Kim
2021Sarah Tejada
2022Joshua D. Lee
2023Nicole E. Su

          Terms of use

          Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software